Category: News, Steps Ahead


STEPPIN‘ OUT is the new album by STEPS AHEAD, and sees the return of one of the classic bands of the fusion era.

One of the most popular Jazz bands of the 1980‘s and 1990‘s was undoubtedly STEPS AHEAD. STEPPIN‘ OUT, their new CD / 2 LP on Jazzline, is the first studio recording by a STEPS AHEAD alumni band for several years and features Mike Mainieri (vibraphone), Bill Evans (saxophones), Chuck Loeb (guitar), Tom Kennedy (bass) and Steve Smith (drums). Joining the group on this album is the renowned WDR Big Band Cologne, led by arranger and conductor Michael Abene and who adds a new dimension to the music, mostly written by Mike Mainieri. STEPS classics such as Pools, Sara‘s Touch, Oops or Trains can be heard on this superb new recording.


1. POOLS 11.07
soloists: Tom Kennedy, Mike Mainieri, Chuck Loeb, Bill Evans

2. STEPPISH 7.35
soloists: Mike Mainieri, Shannon Barnett, Chuck Loeb

soloists: Ruud Breuls, Bill Evans

soloists: Chuck Loeb, Mike Mainieri, Bill Evans

5. OOPS 10.01
soloists: Mike Mainieri, Bill Evans & Paul Heller

6. BEIRUT 9.11
soloists: Bill Evans, Mike Mainieri, Steve Smith

7. SARA‘S TOUCH 9.48
soloists: Bill Evans & Andy Hunter, Mike Mainieri

8. TRAINS 7.47
soloists: Bill Evans, Chuck Loeb
Mike Mainieri | vibraphone
Bill Evans | tenor & soprano saxophone
Chuck Loeb | guitar
Tom Kennedy | bass
Steve Smith | drums


arranged & conducted by Michael Abene

Wim Both | trumpet
Andy Haderer | trumpet
Rob Bruynen | trumpet
John Marshall | trumpet
Ruud Breuls | trumpet
Ludwig Nuss | trombone
Shannon Barnett | trombone
Andy Hunter | trombone
Mattis Cederberg | bass trombone
Johan Hörlen | alto saxophone, flute & clarinet
Karolina Strassmayer | alto saxophone, flute & clarinet
Olivier Peters | tenor saxophone, flute & clarinet
Paul Heller | tenor saxophone, flute & clarinet
Jens Neufang | baritone saxophone, flute & clarinet
Recorded April 24 – April 27, 2016 at WDR Studio 4, Cologne, Germany

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.